the (inescapable) first post

Hello and welcome!

As the title of this post implies, there’s a first time for everything, and for me it’s blogging. Does that make me a rookie? Yup. And that’s okay with me.

The inspiration for starting this blog came from two sources: missing my hometown and taking the plunge into a plant-based diet. My aunt’s family decided to go vegan about a year and a half ago for a number of reasons, namely the many health benefits of cutting out meat and dairy from your diet. This prompted many members of my family to follow in their footsteps and be more cognizant about what they were eating;  my mom became a pescetarian, my grandmother became vegan and gluten-free, and now me! I attempted being a vegan towards the end of college, but that failed miserably when I ended my month of success my eating a cheeseburger and hot dog. Oops. Cheers to trying again! (More after the jump.)

Ocean sunset in Camden

Ocean sunset in Camden

As far as missing Maine goes… that’s something that will never go away by eating a cheeseburger and hot dog. It’s the type of place where time passes slowly, pickup trucks stop to let pedestrians cross the street, and lobsters reign supreme. It’s the type of place where the ocean breeze wafts through the streets of the small downtown and a successful day is one where you go for a hike, sail, boil some lobster (ten bucks says I won’t be able to resist having lobster when I go home…), and grab a drink with friends at Cuzzy’s. I guess that’s why the state is nicknamed “Vacationland”.

So, enjoy my Maine musings and follow me as I cook my way through vegan breakfasts, lunches, and dinners! Rookie out.

5 thoughts on “the (inescapable) first post

  1. Wonderful first post! I’ve never been to Maine, but I got close last year when my husband and I went to Portsmouth NH. It was so beautiful there, and my husband tells me that Maine is a lot like that. And your description of Maine makes it sound so inviting! I’m sure I’ll get there soon (but, I’ll skip the lobster). Anyway, congrats on going plant-based! My husband and I have been following a plant-based diet for just over a year and we love it. We look and feel so much better eating this way. It was a challenging transition at first, especially giving up dairy. I used to love cheese and ice cream. I can’t tell you how many times I cheated those first few months, but it was a lot. It got a lot easier over time and I love eating plant-based now. It’s a pleasure to e-meet you and I look forward to reading more of your posts. Celeste 🙂 PS Thanks for following. Oh, and I love your blog name!

    • Hey there Celeste, thanks for your comment! I have been feeling similar benefits: even after being plant-based for over a month now (with only a few cheats here and there 🙂 ), I feel like I have much more energy, have lost weight, and in general feel GOOD about what I’m eating. Dairy was definitely the hardest thing for me to give up, too; I literally had dreams about eating cheese. Yes, dreams! But it has gotten easier day after day, and I’ve found myself looking forward to going grocery shopping and trying out new recipes. Best of luck to you and your husband! And I hope you make it up to Maine this summer (that’s the best time to go!)

Leave a Reply

